top of page

Meaningful Monotony

You know what can be tedious? Sending e-mails.

I’m doing my fair share of that this week as I scroll through our sponsorship list and tick names off after I send the latest updates and photos of our little ones…

It’s funny—it’s not often that I feel like blogging, but about once a month (almost without fail), I’ll be sitting here pondering one thing or another, and all of the sudden, I’ve opened a new document and my fingers are tapping away on the keyboard, transferring my thoughts into sentences to share with you. And so this blog is being born.

…back to my e-mail checklist: I was viewing it as a bothersome chore, something that was eating away at the time I get to spend with the kiddos. Not my favorite role as International Field Coordinator. The more I felt bogged down by the lengthy list, the more I realized how much I needed to check and transform my attitude.

In the process, this is what sweet Jesus lovingly revealed to me:

I am so incredibly blessed to be a first-hand witness of God’s goodness in the lives of the children we get to minister to each day. I should count it an honor to be able to pass along the sweet stories I watch unfold every day, a sheer joy to capture photos of cute little humans doing their thing with the joy Jesus gives them written all over their faces. It is such a treat to walk into each classroom with my camera and capture candid moments that frame each personality perfectly. Each little soul is so uniquely molded by its Creator. As I get to know each one better and better with the passage of time, it is a privilege to depict the fingerprints of God in the individuality of each child, even if it means composing 81 e-mails. It’s a big, huge blessing to convey their amazing God-given personalities to the people that make it possible for them to school here. It’s an honor to share prayer requests with sponsors that want to spend time in God’s throne room on behalf of their little ones here in South Africa.

With the click of the paper-airplane-shaped-send-button, a fraction of the joy that I get to experience by sharing life with these little tikes every day soars to the other side of the planet. I can only hope and pray that the recipients can somehow sense the magnificent and eternal impact they are having in the lives of little souls all the way over here, as they are educated, fed and exposed to the love and grace of Jesus.

If you are one a sponsor that finds such an e-mail in your inbox, please know that, by the grace of God, I consider it an absolute joy to be able to interact with your little people here each day. And thanks to holy conviction and attitude adjusting, I can honestly say that it is a delight to be the bridge between you and the beautiful children that you are investing in—an honor that I do not take lightly. Because God deserves so much glory for what He is doing in this place. And you are invaluable vessels in His hand as He does it.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page